Medical Fees in North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Cases
To make sure that workers get the proper health care they should and that their doctors and hospitals get paid, the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act sets maximum fees that the health care providers can charge. The fee schedules are periodically reviewed.
Changes to the fees are allowed if the health care provider and the insurer or managed care organization agree. The chargers are normally submitted to the Commission within 30 days after the service is performed. The insurer and managed care organization can agree to compensate the health care provider directly, without the need to go through the Commission.
If a diagnostic test was previously performed by the same or another health care provider, the diagnostic test shouldn’t be redone – unless the provider reasonably believes that there has been a change in condition.
If the health care provider commits medical malpractice, the employer is not liable for medical malpractice damages. The employee is entitled to continue medical treatment, after the malpractice, to get back to the health he/she had before the workplace accident or illness.
Joe Miller Esq. works with knowledgeable physicians
Attorney Joe Miller knows that many workers’ compensation cases come down to differing medical views by different doctors. Joe Miller Esq. has been helping workplace accident victims, including those with serious injuries, for over 25 years. He knows how to dissect medical reports with the aid of knowledgeable doctors. He’ll take on the opposing lawyers and adjustors. To learn more, or to discuss your situation with him directly, contact Joe Miller Law, today by calling (888) 694-1671.