North Carolina Graduated Driver’s Licenses
North Carolina has Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws for drivers under 18 years old:
- At age 15, North Carolina drivers can get a learner’s permit.
- When a driver passes a North Carolina DMV (Department of Motor Vehicle) test designed to test the learner’s knowledge of the rules of driving, the driver can drive with a supervising licensed adult who has at last five years driving experience. Learners are subject to a 9pm to 5am curfew and are prohibited from using a cell phone unless there’s an emergency.
- If the driver passes a road driver’s test, he/she will get a limited provisional license. This means the driver can drive alone, but the driver is still subject to the curfew requirement and the cell phone prohibition. Additionally, seat belts must be used. Also, only one non-family passenger under 21 can be in the automobile.
- After 6 months of safe driving, the young driver will be entitled to a full provisional license. Cell phone use is prohibited until the driver turns 18. At 18, the driver will be allowed a full driver’s license.
Some argue that the entry age for a learner’s permit should be 16 and that the limited provisional license be limited to those 17 and over.
Contact Attorney Joe Miller for Help
If you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident caused by an inexperienced or reckless driver, the experienced team at Joe Miller Law, Ltd., can help. Contact Norfolk attorney Joe Miller today by calling (888) 694-1671 and learn more about what he can do for you.