What Are Commercial Drivers Licenses?

Drivers who drive certain types of vehicles are required to have a commercial driver’s license (CDL). This license is issued in the driver’s home state and allows the driver to drive certain classes of vehicles in all states. Truck owners who let drivers drive commercial vehicles without a CDL are subject to penalties. To obtain a commercial driver’s license, a driver must meet certain qualifications:

Driver Qualifications:

  • They must pass a written test and a practical test to show their competency to drive commercial vehicles
  • CDL licenses have stricter compliance standards such as a lower bar for driving under the influence and a lower tolerance for motor vehicle convictions and criminal convictions than regular licenses.
  • Training is highly recommended

Commercial vehicle classifications

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) has three classifications of commercial vehicles – A, B, and C truck. The classification factors are the weight of the truck, the weight of any vehicles being towed, the number of passengers being transported and whether the vehicle contains hazardous materials.

The states also have their own classifications. Some states include buses, limousines, and vehicles that transport 8-15 drivers.

How our firm can help

Anyone who has been in a car or 18-wheeler accident, in North Carolina or Virginia, or who knows someone who was killed in a car or truck accident because of the negligence of another needs to have legal help. Contact Norfolk Injury Lawyer Joe Miller at or call us toll free at 888-694-1671 for more information on how to proceed, how to work with your doctors, and whether you might have a significant recovery coming your way.